Nars Blush: Orgasm or Dolce Vita? Pt. 1

I love makeup. Absolutely love it. I wouldn’t say I’m obsessed (passionate, maybe?), but there’s something uniquely satisfying about opening a new compact of blush, popping the top of a plummy lipstick, or finding the perfect shade and consistency you’ve been searching for in a new foundation.

It’s an addictive feeling, and so I’m a bit of a sucker when it comes to new, flash items (you know, the ones that are advertised mercilessly in every shop as the NEXT BIG THING and you convince yourself that this, this is the thing that you have been waiting for, the thing that will magically transform you into a walking goddess of light and shimmer). I lose all restraint when the proverbial apple is handed to me, laden with promise, at a low cost of blah, blah.

You get the idea.

But, all that shiny new allure aside, I like trying older, classic items too. The cult favorites, the much talked about, praised and maligned. One of these (and, perhaps, the MOST famous when it comes to blushes) I purchased (succumbed to) in an outing to Myers a few days ago.

Yes, I’m talking about this piece of gorgeous:

NARS-2016-Orgasm-Blush-open-compact-jpeg-1-1024x942

This is Nars Blush (in Orgasm). Aside from its controversial name, it’s difficult to write about simply because so much has been written before. There are a host of different reactions and opinions online, praising and criticizing it in equal measure, but as for me… I actually really like it.

It’s a pretty, fairly natural blush – flattering (I hope) on my pale, neutral skin, and the pigment is a lovely pink/peach colour. It’s the kind of shade you get when you pinch your cheeks a little, not too hard, and the traces of gold in the pan add a little sparkle.

I found it difficult to blend at first (so much pigment), but a swirl of the brush, a tap on the wrist to shake off the excess, and a delicate hand goes far in the way of excellent colour pay-off. It’s quite a subtle shade, even when layered, so if you want something striking and dramatic it may not be your first choice. The wear-time was decent (easily lasts me all day), and the compact case is pretty and portable. That being said, to restate a familiar gripe with Nars’ packaging, the black velvet outer-casing is a nightmare when it comes to picking up foundation smudges. I’ve only had it a few days and it’s already looking a bit worse for wear.

But. As I got the limited edition, jumbo version (which was a complete accident, by the way; the sales assistant handed me the wrong package and, as it was obviously a sign from above, I didn’t have the heart to contradict her), my very pretty, very big compact of blush is a bit more special. It has a gorgeous large mirror, the shade name emblazoned on the front (intertwining cleverly with the brand’s logo), and a very chic, retro model on translucent cellophane when you click open the case.

i-024036-limited-edition-jumbo-sized-orgasm-blush-3-940

So cute. So pretty. So limited edition.

Of course, the price is a bit of a sore point. Retailing at $58.00 (Australian dollars) for the jumbo version, and an only slightly less offensive $44.00 for the ordinary, run of the mill size, I felt almost obligated to like it. It’s an expensive item, but for this amount of product (a whopping 8 g) you won’t have to buy blush for a long, long time.

 

(Unless you’re me. And in researching Nars blushes, you decided that two is, indeed, better than one and Dolce Vita is the kind of shade that would really make you stand out from the crowd…)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Nars Blush: Orgasm or Dolce Vita? Pt. 1

Leave a Reply

